Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Barkha (None)     12 May 2021

Return is defective

Received notification

"The return of income filed by you as per the above details is considered as defective with-in the meaning of section 139(9) of the IT Act for the following reason:

Taxpayer is offering Income under the head Profits and gains from Business or Profession. Hence, as per the provisions of Sec.44AA, the taxpayer is required to maintain books of accounts. However, as seen from the return, the taxpayer has not filled up Part A of the Profit and Loss Account and Balance Sheet. Further, income from business has not been offered under presumptive taxation, if eligible."

Income reported in ITR3 is 16,75,000 with business code 16019

What to do, please advise

35 Replies

Raghavendra Kamath

Raghavendra Kamath   12 May 2021

Every 9 out of 10 has received it. refile with 44AD
Barkha

Which category? I am a freelance translator. Can't find the appropriate code for 44AD

Raghavendra Kamath

No need to mention code for 44ad filing
Barkha

But 44ada requires filling section 62 in ITR 3. Without code, form counts it as error. Or are you saying that ITR4 needs to be filled now?

Raghavendra Kamath

Check thoroughly itr3 doesn't require business code for 44ad.
1 Like
Sourav

Sourav (Student)     12 May 2021

Agree with Kamath
Raghavendra Kamath

Use schema of IT dept. you will find there. Avoid using ready software
sabyasachi mukherjee

sabyasachi mukherjee   12 May 2021

The notice says there is inconsistency .
The profit loss account and balance sheet is not audited.
Get your accounts signed by a certified accountant or authenticated .
Then file a revised return in response the notice received from the Income tax department.
Barkha