Epcg obligation fullfilment

498 views 3 replies

Dear sir, we have imported a machine last year 0% duty and started exports as well , its 2nd year running , duty saved 52 lacs,

pls advice following:-

a) is it mandatory to submit chartered engg certificate of installation. what is the time limit ?
b) do we need to submit export data every year or once after fulfillment of export obligation.
c) where can we submit these export data.

many thanks in advance

Hemant Dutta

Replies (3)

AS PER PARA 5.3.1 OF HAND BOOK OF PROCEDURES VOL-1(2009-2014) "(a) Authorization holder shall produce to the concerned RA a certificate from the Jurisdictional Central Excise Authority, confirming installation of Capital Goods at factory/ premises of authorization holder or his supporting manufacturer(s) /vendor(s) within six months from date of completion of import. (b) In the case of import of spares, the installation certificate shall be submitted by the Authorization holder within a period of three years from the date of import. (c) However, in case of units not registered with Central Excise Authorities, the Authorization holder shall produce to the concerned RA, a certificate from an independent Chartered Engineer confirming the said installation of Capital goods/spares. AFTER Read more: Chapter 5 of the Handbook of Procedures (Volume I) 2009

AFTER REDEMPTION THEY SUBMIT THE DETAIL OF EXPORT FULFILLMENT IN CONCERNED REGIONAL LICENSING AUTHORITY.

One clarification - in the case of major capacity expansion projects,  we will be importing capital goods in a phased manner and installing the same .   But overall completion/installation of the expanded Unit will be a later date.  Whether 6 months for installation certification will be counted for each item of capital goods or installation of Unit as a whole.   If the interpretation is  installation certificate is required for  each item of capital goods within 6 months of import,  any remedy for delays?

kindly advise

in this scenario ...........you are advised to Approach the Chartered engineer (if not Registered in Excise) otherwise Alrady registered in excise approach meet inspector and ask for arrange Installation Certificate on back date.