E-filling is mandatory for all income tax payer?

Efiling 1145 views 3 replies

I am a simple Tax-payer. My Income Tax file also not goes under Compulsory Adudited file. My Chatered Account says that it is not mandatory for that person/firms to e-filling who are not lies under compulsory auditing system. But one of my brother who are also a senior accountant/cleark in a Big CA Firm, had said me from the financial year 2011-12 (Assessment Year 2012-13) e-filling is mandatory for all individual/firm. If I submit the return manually then, IT Department will again ask me to file the return electronically. It may not be digitally signed.

Now let me inform that who is correct? The return filling date are knocking at the door. Please help me.

Replies (3)
its compulsory to file e return either of ur income below the compulsory audit limit.

E filing of Income Tax return is Must for Individuals and HUF,Where Income for the Financial Year 2011-12 is more than 10 Lakh.The New rule has been added with effect from 01.04.2012 and this is applicable for assessment year 2012-13 previous year 2011-12.

E filing can be done with Digital signature or without digital signature (By sending ITR-V to CPC ,Banglore)

Due Date to File Income Tax return for assessment year 2012-13 for non audit cases is 31.07.2012 

You have to mandatorily efile your returns on following conditions: 1. If your account are to be audited. 2. If your taxable income is above 10 lacs. 3. If you had earlier filed your return electronically, it is mandatory to efile your return. If you have once efiled your return them you can't manually submit your return. It is advisable to you to e-file ur return for fast processing.