Do I need to submit Form 15CA?

Others 195 views 4 replies

Hello, I stay as a tenant and my landlord is a Non-Resident Indian. Every month since the start of the current fiscal year, I have been transferring the rent from my savings account to his NRO account. The yearly rental amount will not exceed INR 5 lakhs. Kindly advise if I need to submit Form 15 CA in this case. If yes, then what should be the RBI code and the sub-code.

Thank you.

Replies (4)
In case of nri if it exceeds rs.5 lacs , then it's OK.. a declaration is necessary otherwise not.
Form 15ca is needed for payment to nri even if below 5lakhs. part a needs to be filled and form can be filed online.

Thank you for responding to one part of my query. Kindly let me know what should be the RBI purpose code that I need to select when filling Part A of Form 15CA for transfer of rent to NRO account. Your response will be very helpful for me. Thank you.

There is no need because the payment is being made in rupees to a rupee account in India.

Otherwise your Bank would have already asked you to give them the 15CACB before processing any payments.

Just make sure you deposit the TDS / file the returns.