Whether GST is Applicable on Foreign Currency Income Earned Abroad Remitted to India

Rules 204 views 4 replies

I have one query in GST. One of my friends is giving tutions of German Language from Germany only to German Students and taking money in German Currency from them. Subsequently he transfers this money to his Indian Bank Account which gets transfered to Indian Currency on deposit in Indian Bank.

His Chartered Accountant is of opinion that this attracts IGST on the Language Tutions given aborad for remittances done to India.

We need to know as to what the GST law says in this case with following scenerios : - 

1. In Case Turnover is more than Rs 40 Lakhs
2. In Case Turnover is less than Rs 40 Lakhs

His GST Registration Number is from Delhi.

With Regards,
Manik

Replies (4)
As per Section 22 for Supply of services the threshold limit to obtain registration is 20lac (But as per your query he is already registered)

2. Even though his turnover is less than threshold limit prescribed but as he registered then he required to pay GST. (As all the provisions applicable once you registered)

Yes its definitely export of Services.
In term of Section 2(6) of IGST act for Export of Services Supplier shall be registered in India, Recipient is located outside India & payment reced in convertible exchange.
Here gst is not applicable , hence threshold limit is not applicable.

@ sabhyasachi

why GST is not applicable ???? he is already registered.

Why is he registered in GST when his location is in Germany?