Regarding Form 17 & 16A

03 April 2009 As per the formate of Form 17 issued by IT DEPARTMENT vide notification no 31[replacing challan 281 for payment of TDS for FY 2009-10] there is no provision to mention section under which the payment is to be made nor the segregation of company deductee & non-company deductee is asked for more over there is no clarification for unique transaction number.

Kindly guide me How to make payment vide form 17?

In new formate of form 16A there is no provion to mention the nature of payment under which deduction is made. So this make us understood that a consolidated certificate is to be issued for all type of transaction. Is it really so?

03 April 2009 Ministry of Finance

Notification on TDS and TCS
The Board has amended the rules relating to Tax Deduction at Source (TDS) and
Tax Collected at Source (TCS) vide Notification No. S.O.858 (E) dated 25th March

In this context, taxpayers are informed that the new Form 17 (the challan for
payment of TDS and TCS) is applicable only for payment of tax deducted or
collected at source on or after 1st April 2009.

Therefore, in respect of any TDS or
TCS made before the 1st April, 2009, the payment will continue to be made to the
credit of the Central Government by using the challan in Form No. 281 (i.e. the
old challan form) even after 31st March 2009.

The Central Board of Direct Taxes will shortly issue a detailed circular on the
amended rules relating to TDS and TCS.

03 April 2009 For notification, Please check:

http://tin-nsdl.com/downloads/Notification_020409.pdf

03 April 2009 I had allready cheak the notification sugested by you. This question is asked to get some idea for the payment to be made for the transaction of April'09 to be paid on 07.05.09.

04 April 2009 AS PER MY KNOWLEDGE FORM NO. 281 IS THE SAME FOR PAYMENT OF TDS/TCS BUT ALONG WITH THE 281 YOU HAVE TO UPLOAD FORM 17 AFTER MAKING EPAYMENT IN FORM 281 ONE UNIQUE TRANSACTION ID WITH CIN & BSR CODE GENERATED AND SHOUL FILL IN FORM NO. 17 ,

BUT STILL AWAITING FOR DETAIL CERCULER FROM I T DEPT

05 April 2009 I think Mukund is correct, since NSDL website allows e payment for the A y. 2010-11.