Challenge order u/s 271(1)(c) on validity of ao

(Guest)

From the year calendar 2004 onwards I have been living in Gurgaon, Haryana. Consequently, I have been filing my tax returns with a Gurgaon address since AY 2005-06. I filed a return for AY 2007-08 in July 2007 with a Gurgaon address, ITO, Gurgaon as the jurisdictional AO and showing only salary income. The return was picked up for scrutiny by ITO, New Delhi in June 2009. The following events then occurred.

1. ITO, New Delhi issued a show-cause notice u/s 148 in June 2009.
  2. ITO, New Delhi issued a notice u/s 143(2) initiating assessment proceedings against me in August 2009.
  3. I met ITO, New Delhi in August who told me that I had not paid taxes for three inward transactions into my savings bank account (let us assume amounts of 10,000, 20,000 and 30,000 respectively) that amounted to short-term capital gains. I informed the ITO that one of the transactions (30,000) resulted in short-term capital loss and accepted that the other two (10,000 and 20,000) resulted in short-term capital gains. However, I asked the ITO how he could initiate assessment proceedings against me given that he was not my jurisdictional AO. He did not provide any reply to my question. I received no further notices from the said ITO.
  4. In August 2009 I paid tax plus interest on the two transactions (10,000 and 20,000) that resulted in short-term capital gains for me.
  5. ITO, Gurgaon issued a notice u/s 142(1) in November 2009.
  6. I met the ITO, Gurgaon and submitted all documents, including challans for the tax deposited in August 2009.
  7. ITO, Gurgaon issued an order u/s 143(3) in December 2009, adding all three transactions (10,000, 20,000 and 30,000) as short-term capital gains.
  8. ITO, Gurgaon issued an order u/s 156 in December 2009 demanding additional tax arising out of the third transaction (30,000) classified as short-term capital gain.