Role of auditors in creation of black money and bad assets

3536 views 17 replies

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (Icai), the apex body of accounting professionals, wants the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) to appoint statutory auditors in state-run banks. The accountants’ body has sought the government intervention on this. Till 2005, RBI was directly involved in the appointment of auditors, but now the boards of public sector banks (PSBs) appoints auditors in consultation with the central bank. Until 2005, the appointment of auditors in state-run banks was overseen by an appointments committee with representation from RBI, Icai and the Comptroller and Auditor General of India.

“If appointments are left to bank managements, there may be a tendency to take short-cuts in these regards with possible ultimate deleterious effects on the financial health of the PSBs,”

“This process compromises the independence of auditors and gives an incentive for promotion of vested interest in the appointment of auditors.”

Bankers, experts and consultants criticized Icai’s move, saying this is unlikely to make any major difference in the quality of auditing. Also, any changes in these aspects should equally apply to private and foreign banks as well, as they also deal with public money

“In many cases, auditors do not see eye-to-eye with bank managements (on issues such as) like NPA (non-performing assets) provisioning, implementation of prudential norms, etc., and this is the reason auditors are at all appointed. There must always be somebody who will not look at the business from the point of view of the management, and who will look and act at it from the point of view of good governance,”

“The real issue is not independence, but the quality of auditing, which has seen deterioration in many cases in the recent past,”

I submit my views on above mentioned opinion of ICAI

I fully agree that RBI should appoint auditors for conducting statutory audit of various banks and CA should be held responsible, accountable and punishable if they fail to point out the fraudulent and illegal behavior of bank management. Auditors least bother of faults or fraud committed by banks because it is ultimately banks who will appoint them and pay them charges and extend comforts as per their desire.

Similarly in case of audit of private businessmen and service class people, auditors prepare good balance sheet ignoring all bad points so that they may be paid attractive fees. The more fees they charge, the more auditors will guide ways of tax evasion, concealment of facts related of violation of laws, avoidance of statutory provisions etc.

In brief I can say that auditors are best blackmailers and they can go to any extent against the interest of the government if they are adequately compensated for their advices. It is seen that auditors prepare balance sheet as per need of the businessmen who are inclined to avail higher amount of loans from banks. CA almost works as agent of businessmen and it is they who motivate bank officials for inflated lending in return of attractive bribe money.

As of now none is held responsible for the act of omission and commission. Banks blame auditors and auditor s blame banks for ongoing and perpetual fraudulent activities undertaken by bank management. Auditors are paid huge amount for auditing but they seldom check into records of banks and try to complete statutory audit even at big branches in a day or two even though they claim the bill for three or four days..

It is only when Branch Manager of a branch fails to give best quality of hospitability to auditors or fail to give precious gifts to some corrupt and greedy auditors that auditors try to teach lesson to bank officials and mention even non-mentionable irregularities in their audit report. Similarly at regional or zonal or corporate level various officers of the bank are entrusted the duties of entertaining, hotelling, visiting picnic spots and gifting the team of auditors to get best rating and best reports ignoring all vital information. I have seen many auditors even calling branch officials in hotel with money and gifts and signing financial reports blindly.

Unfortunately RBI officials also do not want to have headache of process of appointment and then controlling of auditors. Banks are violating important rules and laws in concurrence with RBI officials. Assets are not classified as per RBI norms of assets classification and income is booked against income recognition norms set by RBI and for this purpose auditors, bankers and regulating agencies dance as puppet of businessmen who spend money for getting illegal benefits from bank, from government and from RBI.As such even if duty of appointment of auditors is restored to RBI, corruption is not going to end. As long as actions are not taken against evil doers, there will not be any fear in the mind of neither bankers nor auditors.

Million dollar question is who will bell the cat? All are birds of the same feather. Money and only money play the role. The more the bribe is offered, the shorter becomes the eyes and ears of auditors, and also that of all regulating and investigating agencies.

Auditors do not perform auditing to safeguard rule of law and ensure following of accounting principles or for tax compliance in true spirit but play the role of mediating between borrowers and bankers, between tax officials and tax evaders and between law makers and law breakers.

It is auditors who prepares financial statement suitable for sanction of certain amount of loan and who motivates bankers for sanction of the same. It is auditors who teaches businessmen how to avoid payment of taxes and who motivate tax assessing authority to put their signature on assessment orders.

Bankers similarly do not care for safety of their bank but work for self interest. Tax officials do not work for collecting maximum revenue in line with prevalent laws but to help tax evaders so that he or she can get his share through backdoor.

It will not be an exaggeration to say that it is auditors who help in creation of black money in the country in nexus with tax officials and it is again auditors who in nexus with bankers and businessmen help in creation and accumulation of more and more bad assets in bank’s loan portfolio.

Replies (17)

I would like to ask you that whether you are a member of institute or not.

And also i must say that all the opinion given by you is not a fact and i think you dont have any idea of CA profession or audit.

Regards.

Tarun Jain.

Dear Mr. Danendra Jain ,I Respect your Opinion (India is Free Democracy Offcourse) , But Being a Public Platform i would like to Put in my Point of Views on your Post :

1) First of All any generalisation will not be Apt - I must make everyone remember that VINOD RAI the CAG of India IS ALSO AN AUDITOR. MAY BE HE STANDS AGAINST THE WHOLE GOVERNMENT TO MAINTAIN HIS STAND ON FIGURE 1.76 LACS CRORES.

2) YOU HAVE DOCTORS SELLING KIDNEYS ETC (DONT WANT TO OVERSTRETCH THIS , DIFFERENCES OF QUALITY(MINDSET) EXIST IN EVERY PROFESSION) BUT THEY ARE THE ONES WHO SAVES LIVES ..... I HOPE I AM RIGHT WITH THIS.

3) ONE MIGHT HAVE HIS/HER PERCEPTIONS , BASED ON WHAT THEY HAVE SEEN THROUGHTOUT THEIR CAREERS , BUT THEY ARE JUST PERCEPTION ....

4) I SHALL CONCLUDE MY VIEW BY SAYING THAT IT MIGHT HAPPEN THAT FEW INDIVIDUALS ENTER INTO MALPRACTICES AND CHEAP PRACTICES AND THEY MUST BE BROUGHT TO BOOK . BUT AS SAID BY ABRAHAM LINCOLN " BIGGEST HEIGHT OF INSANITY IS GENERALISATION" ..

Originally posted by : CA.Ankit Jain

Dear Mr. Danendra Jain ,I Respect your Opinion (India is Free Democracy Offcourse) , But Being a Public Platform i would like to Put in my Point of Views on your Post :

1) First of All any generalisation will not be Apt - I must make everyone remember that VINOD RAI the CAG of India IS ALSO AN AUDITOR. MAY BE HE STANDS AGAINST THE WHOLE GOVERNMENT TO MAINTAIN HIS STAND ON FIGURE 1.76 LACS CRORES.

2) YOU HAVE DOCTORS SELLING KIDNEYS ETC (DONT WANT TO OVERSTRETCH THIS , DIFFERENCES OF QUALITY(MINDSET) EXIST IN EVERY PROFESSION) BUT THEY ARE THE ONES WHO SAVES LIVES ..... I HOPE I AM RIGHT WITH THIS.

3) ONE MIGHT HAVE HIS/HER PERCEPTIONS , BASED ON WHAT THEY HAVE SEEN THROUGHTOUT THEIR CAREERS , BUT THEY ARE JUST PERCEPTION ....

4) I SHALL CONCLUDE MY VIEW BY SAYING THAT IT MIGHT HAPPEN THAT FEW INDIVIDUALS ENTER INTO MALPRACTICES AND CHEAP PRACTICES AND THEY MUST BE BROUGHT TO BOOK . BUT AS SAID BY ABRAHAM LINCOLN " BIGGEST HEIGHT OF INSANITY IS GENERALISATION" ..

very well replied!!

was disappointed to read the post of Respected Danendra Jain....but your reply to him is just perfect....Salute to CA and CA Profession!!

At Some points you are right (because of some Auditors) but its a very bad way to criticize any Profession. Before Writing about Auditors in the above way you shouldn't forget what Managers of Banks do.

Dear friends I welcome your valued opinion and thank you for your nice comment.

I agree that there is good number of CAs in the system and generalization is not justified. There are good person in the administration too, but common men openly say that government is corrupt.

There may be a few devoted ministers in Manmohan Singh‘s cabinet but the general impression is that government led by Doctor Manmohan Singh has broken all records of corruption.

There are good leaders in Congress party too, but the movement launched against Corruption by Team Anna is undoubtedly directed against Congress Party.

Actually one or two person do not make the image of any organization.

When majority is indulged in unfair practices, common perception does not count much good work done by good persons. Of course India survives and Indian system survives only due to the fact there are still few good persons left. There are good officers in government banks too but normally lending is done in consideration of quality and quantity of bribe they take in return of their sanction.

There are negligibly and microscopically few government schools in India where teaching is praiseworthy, but the common perception is that government schools are worthless and it will be dangerous to admit our children in such schools.

Similarly people do not want to admit their family members in government hospitals for treatment because doctors in such hospital are in general corrupt and careless.

Scams after scams are surfacing in India. Why?

There should not be any case of scam, fraud or misappropriation of government fund because all books of accounts and all expenses done by all departments and  accounts of all development  funds are normally certified by a team of CAs.

Fraud like that of Satyam Computers could not have taken place if the team of CAs could have exposed the truth in the beginning.

Again I would like to say that balance sheet of most of the companies and firms are prepared after concealing a lot of negative points and after concealing considerable amount of  income so that tax payment may be evaded.

Black money could not have their existence in the domestic system or in Swiss banks if CA would have performed well. Here CA means all types of auditors including CAG.

Bankers sanction loans normally based on audited balance sheet and still lending goes bad in due course of time. It is only because balance sheets are normally prepared as per comfort of bankers and loan seekers.

I agree that even doctors in India are not performing their duty as there are supposed to. But it does not mean to say that all acts of omission and commission be legalized and accepted as way of life. Everyone is thief it does not mean that act of stealing and robbery be legalized by common men and the government.

It is the duty of good persons to expose bad work of bad persons to bring about reformation in the system. We after all cannot accept evil work as good work and praise activities which are not praise worthy. Silence also makes us guilty of the system if we do not raise voice against injustice.

Originally posted by : Shashi Bhushan

At Some points you are right (because of some Auditors) but its a very bad way to criticize any Profession. Before Writing about Auditors in the above way you shouldn't forget what Managers of Banks do.

We, human beings, are perhaps genetically programmed to be egotistic - we take evreything personally. We forget the time when we came to this Planet. At that time we were, first of all, members of the family where we were born.  And simultaneously, we were - by birth - citizens of our Country.

These two facts always impel me to think that the first things that I must defend are my family and my country. We were not by birth CAs or Bank Managers or something like that. We chose our profession to earn a living and a name - if possible. Our choice of profession has never been universally voluntary either. It seems, we have a tendency to mix up priorities.

The bone of contention here is not ( or at least it should not be) whether we should blame Auditors - as a group of professionals -  ( defined within the periphery of the definition of the same given by Shri Jain) for their acts of omission and comission.  The main issue here is, whether Auditors ( that include CA but ALSO include others) are the chief offenders in regard to the all-pervading corruption in India.

Any professional who is not faithful to his profession is a corrupt one. And s/he ( may be a doctor, a CA , a Civil Servant, a Bank Manager...) should be condemned for being so. We are also well-aware of the fact that many a bee shares the honey, with the mightier claiming the greater share. These facts are as bromide as it gets.

Now, the crore-rupee question is, how to cleanse the audit-system of this rot if we believe that it is one of the chief reasons for our misery. We, the common man, want concrete, objective and lucid way out. I request every-person-of-erudition here to share their thoughts on this.

We are tired of a Socrates who would ask many questions but answer little.

Originally posted by : Sourav Banerjee MA,MSW

Originally posted by : Shashi Bhushan

We, human beings, are perhaps genetically programmed to be egotistic - we take evreything personally. We forget the time when we came to this Planet. At that time we were, first of all, members of the family where we were born.  And simultaneously, we were - by birth - citizens of our Country.

These two facts always impel me to think that the first things that I must defend are my family and my country. We were not by birth CAs or Bank Managers or something like that. We chose our profession to earn a living and a name - if possible. Our choice of profession has never been universally voluntary either. It seems, we have a tendency to mix up priorities.

The bone of contention here is not ( or at least it should not be) whether we should blame Auditors - as a group of professionals -  ( defined within the periphery of the definition of the same given by Shri Jain) for their acts of omission and comission.  The main issue here is, whether Auditors ( that include CA but ALSO include others) are the chief offenders in regard to the all-pervading corruption in India.

Any professional who is not faithful to his profession is a corrupt one. And s/he ( may be a doctor, a CA , a Civil Servant, a Bank Manager...) should be condemned for being so. We are also well-aware of the fact that many a bee shares the honey, with the mightier claiming the greater share. These facts are as bromide as it gets.

Now, the crore-rupee question is, how to cleanse the audit-system of this rot if we believe that it is one of the chief reasons for our misery. We, the common man, want concrete, objective and lucid way out. I request every-person-of-erudition here to share their thoughts on this.

We are tired of a Socrates who would ask many questions but answer little.

Exactly... pointed out very well... And as very well quoted by Ankit Jain Sir too.... Generelization, in a matter like this, at any point of time, should not be done...!!!

Well there is  toooooooo much talk about balck money  swiss bank n corruption n similar things but the sadest part is that we always balme others without any introspection that is why that it is still unresolved frankly speaking i think  we cant uproot TOTALLY bcs it its human nature(NOT JUST AN AUDITOS NATURE) if every one take their on resposibility then probably sumthing cn be dn...................

Corruption, Auditors & Common People - all are the part of current scanerio and some of very sensitive opinions have been shared but is this the complete picture? Greed as a part of human nature plays a very crucial role i.e. MONEY in present context and thats why Crores of Rupees so called Black Money have been arranged by groups of few people only not by the common man. I concoquered with the views of Mr.Sourav and besides this, I would like to highlight one more point which can't be overlooked here and that is about many Auditor(s) who are honest, well respected and recognised among the many due to their commitments & dedication towards their profession which makes people to still believe in Audit Profession despite malpractices followed by some.... Nobody dares to question them because of who they are?  As an Indian, a common man and as Auditor, corruption can be eradicate if we only sense the feelings of "How much it takes to be an Indian?"

However, this is my personal opinion only....

"How much it takes to be an Indian?" Very nice question, Manoj Ji. Also, "How much it takes to be a satisfied human being?" In the herat of our hearts, we fear such questions. Most of us are collectors - of everything material, that's why we are always craving for more, unlike, say a Lion who will not touch a Dear if his stomach is full.

Political leaders and private businessmen of the country were expected to have moral values in today's competitive life. But it is disheartening to see the decline in the moral values of well educated people - IAS, Judges, Doctors, Advocates, Police & Military Officers, CAs etc. These days, the news is filled with corruption and unethical behavior of the professionals and higher officials. There are people. in the news, who were never expected to indulge in such things. The problem is that from whom the country is expecting to do well, has become the mediator of the culprit people. India hopes from this section of people to come up and led the country. I hope we understand this sooner than later.

/forum/moral-turpitude-187095.asp

Thanks Mr. Sourav for your acknowledgment and agreed with SSG too, but now the question is how to stop this? This has been the part of present and criticism is not a solution rather a debate at this juncture. I would appreciate to hear about the solutions as we all are recongnised by our profession as a whole not by individuals...

For loan proposals, banks require audited final accounts of the borrower/applicant. In some cases CAs just stamp the final accounts and write “Compiled from the books of accounts produced before us.” This doesn’t mean that the final accounts have been audited. In most of the cases loan applicant submit their tax audit or company audit report. These audit reports are as per their respective laws but not for the purpose of bank loan. The bank officials should clearly check this before further processing of the loan.

I think it will be good if there is separate audit report to be submitted to the banks in case of Term Loans or Cash Credit Limits. Tax or Company Audit reports should not be accepted. The format and points of this audit report must be based on the issues which give insights about the business of the borrower.

There are rules and regulations which if implemented properly can check the NPA of the banks. The NPAs can easily be identified at an early stage if bank officials and the auditors are fair in the decision making. Bank Officials are required to visit the factory premises or godowns of the borrower after specific interval. If stock audit is being done fairly, the deficiencies can be brought to the notice.

For tax and company audits, ICAI should also take a step. Every CA must be asked to submit the list of his/her audit clients for every financial year to ICAI. This data can be matched with data available with department. We will find number of irregularities there.

But real issue is who will perform his/her duties without any greed for money?

Before indulging into any immoral act, one should think about his future generation. What will the children think if they come to know that their parents have done an immoral act? One day we will not be there. For our unethical deeds, our children shouldn’t suffer.

In one such case, a son of a reputed lawyer, declined to join his father’s profession. He doesn’t like his father’s way of doing practice - earning through unfair means and because of his links with the high officials in the department. He is now well settled in a job in a MNC in US. Now every time I meet his father, he advices me not to indulge in unfair practices. You may earn less but what you earn should be fair.

Ideas given By SSG above should be welcome by all bankers and they should try to take proper care in processing of loan proposals.