How to save tax for housewife with only rental income

Tax queries 1148 views 10 replies

My mother is a housewife, age 48. She gets a monthly rental of 50000/- Other than this she doesn't have any other income. With this her annual income becomes 6 Lakhs. She can get a direct deduction of 30% which makes the taxable income as 420000. She also gets a Property Tax deduction of lets say around 10000 which makes the taxable income as 410000. 

I understand that she can save upto 150000 under section 80C. 

Are there any other deductions she can utilize to reduce her taxable income.

Replies (10)

I think its for A.Y 15-16

So you have TI of 4.1L less 1.5 u/s 80C and basic limit is 2.5L and assessee would also be eligible for rebate of upto 2000 from tax u/s 87A. There is no tax liability.

You can also check 80D etc

If you want you can take benefit of 80D(medicalim),80G(Donations)

Rs. 1.50 Lakh benefit u/s 80C is for AY 2015-16 only and not for current assessment year. Therefore your mother will be eligible for max. deduction of Rs. 1 lakh u/s 80C. Besides she will be eligible for a tax rebate of Rs. 2000/- u/s 87A as your taxable income is upto Rs. 5 Lac. Besides, if she has taken a mediclaim policy, she can claim deduction u/s 80D. Basic limit for individual assessee below 60 years of age is Rs. 2 lac for AY 14-15.

Yes Agree with Mr. Abhishek

Abhishek is right
Now suppose the pm rent is 1,00,000 pa amount is 12,00,000. Now advice how to save Tax

She may use section 80D for mediclaim and claim deduction.

You can also avail interest on loan for aquisition or repairs or renewals of the property without any ceiling
Respected Agathiswaran, is interest paid in cash from a loan(in cash) borrowed from frd allowed??
Interest is allowed in section 24(b) is.....only for loan borrowed for let out property which r used for renewal, reparing or other but u used for resident property then allowed only 30,000 max. But loan taken after 1/10/99 then max. 150000........