Plz solve this problem

Dear CCI members, kindly provide me solution for this problem.

Mr. X has Rs. 200,000 investment in his business firm. He wants 15% return on his money. From an analysis of recent cost figures he finds that his variable cost of Operating is 60% of sales, his fixed cost are Rs. 80,000 per year. Show computations to answer the following questions.

a) What sales volume must be obtained to Break Even?

b) What sales volume must be obtain to get 15% Return on Investment?

c) Mr. X estimates that even if his closed the doors of his business, he would incure Rs. 25000 as expenses per year. At what   sales would be better off by locking his business sup.

Replies (4)

1)  80,000 / 40% = 2,00,000/- sales volume to achieve break even point.

assumptions: no tax,,, p.v ratio = contribution / sales i.ee 40/100*100 = 40/-,,assumed as 100% sales volume.

2) 80,000 + 30,000 = 1,10,000 / 40% = 2,75,000/- sales volume to achieve break even point.

  note: 2,00,000 * 15/100 = 30,000/- is opportunity cost is to considered to achieve break even point.

3) it is up to uuuu,,, to think what to do??????????

 

Break Even Point = Fixed Cost/ Contribution ratio 

                                = 80000/40% = Rs. 200,000/-

BEP (with targetted profit) = Targetted Profit = 200000 * 15% = 30000

Therefore, BEP = (Fixed Cost + Targetted Profit)/ Contribution Ratio

                             =  (80000+30000)/40% = Rs. 275000/-

Now, 3rd part involves a decision on Shut Down of business. So we have 2 alternatives :

Particulars                                             Shut Down                                  Continue Business

Fixed Cost                                              Nil                                                  80000

Shut Down Expenses                          25000                                            Nil

 Difference in 2 expenditure = 80000 - 25000 = Rs. 55,000/-

Now in order to Shut Down his business, sales level should be such that Contribution is less than Rs. 55,000/-

Sales Level to acheive Rs 55,000 contribution = 55,000/40% = 137500/-

Therefore, shut down would be feasible at Sales Level of less than  Rs. 137500 

@ vineet jaiswal 

let  we give her, an opportunity to think & make a good decission. & 

y u provided that decission making answer.

 

 

Originally posted by : gvgr7

@ vineet jaiswal 

let  we give her, an opportunity to think & make a good decission. & 

y u provided that decission making answer.

 

 

Sorry for the mistake.

Leave a Reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register  

Related Topics :

Loading
Company
ARTICLESHIP 30 September 2026
CA Article Assistant

CA Suraj Garg & Associates

New Delhi

CA Final

View Details
Company
ARTICLESHIP 21 September 2026
CA Article Assistant

KK & Company Chartered Accountant

Pune

CA Inter

View Details
Company
ARTICLESHIP 18 September 2026
Industrial Trainee

Twenty Point Nine Five Ventures Private Limited

Noida

CA Inter

View Details
Company
18 September 2026
Accounts & Finance Specialist

ULTRA CHEMICAL WORKS

Thane

CA Final

View Details
Company
ARTICLESHIP 07 September 2026
Article/ Paid Assistant

Murali and Sumeet Chartered Accountant

Bengaluru

CA Foundation

View Details
Company
30 September 2026
Senior Accountant

Codeboard Technology

Chennai

B.Com

View Details
Company
ARTICLESHIP 15 September 2026
Freelance Taxation Content Writer Intern

Interactive Media Pvt Ltd.

New Delhi

CA Inter

View Details
Company
ARTICLESHIP 28 September 2026
Junior Accountant

J S P M & Associates LLP

Pune

B.Com

View Details