Change of name in PAN card

i am having a pan card. lately i have changed my name. kindly tell me the procedure for changing the name in the pan card, and what are the documents to be attached alongwith the application. and how much will it cost me. in how many days can i get the pan card with name change, showing my new name with old pan number. kindly help me as it is very urgent for me. thanking you.

Requried correction pan card forms.

Ankit kumar (Student) (1691 Points)
Replied 20 November 2008

only pan crrection form with documents are required

TR Nagaraja (Consultant) (209 Points)
Replied 24 November 2008

U can apply for Form named as CHNAGE IN PAN CARD and change the details and can get the pan card with changed details

Nirmala (Articles Student) (107 Points)
Replied 02 December 2008

For correction in PAN Card:

You have to apply in Form No 49A for any correction in the PAN card.

You have to affix a stamp size colour photograph (just like Fresh issue of PAN Card) You have to attach one Address Proof and One ID Proof alongwith the filled up form(Nowadays for PAN correction, they are accepting only Passport copy or Voter's Id copy, not even Drivers Licence are valid- Please check it up)

The form should be filled in Black Ink only.

Since in the PAN form, only Father's name is material, women can continue to use the same PAN Card unless there is a change in their name.

However you have to give the change of address to IT Dept for any further future correspondence.

can i put address proof as my Post paid bill

Originally posted by :Rashmi
" If a girl has changed her  name after marriage
1)does she have to get a new pancard with a new PAN no. so  that the PAN card shows her changed name?
2)n future does she have to file all tax returns under the new name?
3) will the dept cancel the old PAN no.?
]4) what is the procedure for getting a new PANcard and getting the old one cancelled?

raaj suri (BUSINESS) (22 Points)
Replied 06 February 2009

FROM RAAJ VERMA TO RAAJ SURI

ADDRESS: FROM 1687/10A /HBC, GURGAON  ( HR.) TO 1711/10A/HBC GURGAON (HR.)

EXISTING PAN NO ACOPV5411C

Rakesh Thakaran (RF Optimizer) (21 Points)
Replied 15 January 2010

Recently i received my PAN card and i found my name as "Rakesh Choudharywhich incorrect  it should be "Rakesh Thakaran" .

Plese guide me through the process to correct my name.

Rakesh Thakaran

Contact No. 9771418439