Deposit of amount 10 lkahs in fixed deposit

317 views 2 replies

Hi , 

I have deposited fixed deposit my from my childhood days savings , income small savings and received from parents , grand father gave me lumsum amount ( 5 lakh) but he is died now.

i received the notice from ITO 142(1). Please let me know the steps to provide proof for this , because i have not recorded any proof for this.

Replies (2)

Did you file your returns? What is the source of income - salary or business?

IT dept wants to know if you have filed your IT returns. If you have not, then file your returns.

Did you deposit 10lacs in the bank in cash or cheque?

Originally posted by : Mihir

Did you file your returns? What is the source of income - salary or business?

IT dept wants to know if you have filed your IT returns. If you have not, then file your returns.

Did you deposit 10lacs in the bank in cash or cheque?

Hi Thanks for response.

I have deposited as cash and it is from 5 years of my salary small savings, grandfather gave me 5 lakh etc . But I asked the back to pay TDS for the interest amount. 

I have filed IT Return on AY2011-12 but i have not declared this back TDS. ( Assumed that already paid tax)

Now ITO can raise proof for this cash depsit , so please suggest me.