[official] cfa thread for ca/cs students

espionage (human being...) (769 Points)
Replied 02 April 2012

@ ashutosh u can go for finstructor or edupristine... they are big names in the cfa world.
but i would prefer u study all by urself...... rest is upto u bro 
all the best

*PEACE*

Ajit kumar Panda (Quickbook Xero & MYOB Consultant)   (131 Points)
Replied 22 April 2012

IN MY OPINION, ITS TOO EXPENSIVE.

WE HAVE TO PAY  DOLLAR OR INR IF WE JOIN IN INDIA??

ANY INSTITUTE FOR JOINING CFA?

Abhishek Jain (CA) (32 Points)
Replied 22 April 2012

dear espionage,

CA gettin in2 investment bankin without CFA is impossi...we discussed it  matter few mnths bck in some anothr thread..bt i thnk nowadayz CA's r also considered 4 I bankin ,equity research , M& A n al.

Abhishek Jain (CA) (32 Points)
Replied 22 April 2012

dear espionage,

CA gettin in2 investment bankin without CFA is impossi...we discussed it  matter few mnths bck in some anothr thread..bt i thnk nowadayz CA's r also considered 4 I bankin ,equity research , M& A n al.

Pooja Swami (student) (32 Points)
Replied 23 April 2012

Originally posted by : ashutosh

can any one plz telll me abt best coaching anf faculties for all 3 levels of cfa urgent.......

Yeah!! I joined finstructor. Their doubt solving session and video lectures are very helpful, when we start our revision :)

Replied 24 April 2012

Originally posted by : Abhishek Jain

dear espionage,

dude.. u can get into an investment bank wid even just a b.com provided u have the correct networks and contacts.... but for the other guyz.. get a rank in ca final.. land a job in any i bank u want.. no need for mbz/cfa/any other degree....... 

the main point is that no ca studetnt wants to do CFA.. almost 90% dont even know what CFA is... duh....

they lack awareness... this is the bitter truth... further the classes/tuitions are absolutely killing them..

*PEACE*

Ishita (Article) (21 Points)
Replied 24 April 2012

I am in my 3rd year BCom and a CA student as well. I hv finished my ipcc and doin articleship now. My final CA attempt is due in 2014 may. I plan to give my CFA level 1 exam this dec,  and then the next 2 levels after completing CA.

M I being overly ambitious? CUZ I dont want to waste my parents money.

So will i manage? or should i wait until after 2014?

Replied 24 April 2012

Originally posted by : Ish*ta
I am in my 3rd year BCom and a CA student as well. I hv finished my ipcc and doin articleship now. My final CA attempt is due in 2014 may. I plan to give my CFA level 1 exam this dec,  and then the next 2 levels after completing CA.
M I being overly ambitious? CUZ I dont want to waste my parents money.
So will i manage? or should i wait until after 2014?

go for it ish*ta..... but jus give ur best shot..... u will have to put in quite some effort..
in case of any prob jst ask here or pm me...

*PEACE*

Replied 25 April 2012

https://www.cfainstitute.org/about/press/release/Pages/04232012_66112.aspx

T
he long awaited dispute between AICTE and CFA institue has been resolved.
Now students from INDIA can freely register for CFA exams from INDIA, the Exam centeres will be awailable on continous basis like the rest of the world..

the exam centeres for dec 2012 CFA exam are avaialble at New Delhi, Mumbai & Bangalore. No other town.

:)

*PEACE*

Mehul (Chartered Accountant) (22 Points)
Replied 28 April 2012

After doing CA , does job profile matter while taking into consideration 4 years of experience for CFA charter ???

Replied 29 April 2012

Originally posted by : Mehul

After doing CA , does job profile matter while taking into consideration 4 years of experience for CFA charter ???

Of course it matters. While expirence in tax would most likely not be counted, any exp in audit, accounting, banking, research would be counted towards the expirence required by the CFA Institute..
The expirence just has to be Finance/Investment releated...

*PEACE*

Chakraverti Maurya (student) (53 Points)
Replied 06 May 2012

so wats d procedure of getting that 4yr experience.......cheeky

Replied 07 May 2012

@ chakraveti wut procedure??

just get the expierence.. thats the procedure  :)

*PEACE*

Chhaya Gaikwad (Student) (24 Points)
Replied 07 May 2012

Where can i get myself registered for the CFA USA course in Mumbai?Where can i get the course material?

Eventhough it is based on global investment senario is it suitable for indian financial markets as our regulatory norms can differ ??

How many subjects are there for CFA level 1?

Are any mock tests conducteed by tha CFA institute before june or dec attempt of level 1??

Chhaya Gaikwad (Student) (24 Points)
Replied 07 May 2012

kindly reply and thanks in advance.........